In a recent match two incidents occurred in which all players were unsure of the rules.
1. Doubles play - team A were serving and got a ball in play to team B. During the point, a ball struck by team A bounced on team B's side of the court and then rebounded over the net to team A's side of the court. A player from team B, ran around the net, staying on the no-man's land between courts, and was able to reach the ball before it touched to ground and went out of play. This player returned the ball and the ball was then unreturned by team A.
At no time did the player from team B encroach on team A's court but the player did pass the 'extended' line of the net. There was no other way this player could have reached the ball, as it was now on the opposite side of the net but still in play.
Who's point is this?
2. Again in doubles play, a player on team A returned the ball to team B and the ball landed in court. After the ball had landed in team B's court the player from team A touched the net.
If the ball was still in play - had not bounced twice - the point belongs to team B because of the net violation. However, if the ball had bounced twice - is not longer considered to be in play - before the net was touched by the player, who gets the point?