» Stats

Members: 13,751
Threads: 3,124
Top Poster: Lawn Tennis (1,095)
Welcome to our newest member, RX48

» Online Users: 637

0 members and 637 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 1,727, 02-25-2024 at 04:34 PM.

Did I make a mistake in choosing a racquet?

Hello, I'm looking for some racquet advice. I started playing tennis in Spring of '07 with friends, and we've played on a fairly consistent basis since then (about once or twice a week during the summers). I bought my first racquet not long after we started playing, and it was a $20 Wilson Impact. I'd been playing with it ever since until the last time we played, when the string broke. I'd been thinking about getting a better racquet for a while, but this finally gave me a motive to drop a little bit more money on a new one. Reading the reviews online, I was favoring the Head Liquidmetal 4, and went to Academy to purchase a racquet. I found that they had none, but I did wind up purchasing a Head Liquidmetal Radical MidPlus. Reading the reviews for it, it seems like it may be for players a bit beyond my skill level; I would grade myself a 3.0 player at best. I've yet to really try it out (I've actually yet to remove the wrapping on the handle), but I'd kind of like to know if I should expect to be frustrated by it. I'm already worried about moving to a significantly smaller headsize.

fried rice,